Austrian Squads for 2018 Announced, No Team for WEG

Mon, 02/12/2018 - 07:49
Belinda Weinbauer on Sohnlein Brilliant, Austria's Strongest Grand Prix pair of 2017 :: Photo © Astrid Appels

The Austrian Equestrian Federation (OEPS) has announced the dressage squads for 2018 on 31 January. The federation also announced it will not be sending a team to the 2018 World Equestrian Games in Tryon!

The Austrian dressage committee, headed by Diana Wunschek, and the sport director decide on the nominations for the squad and the selection for championships and CDI's. The sport director has final say.  

To be submitted to one of the squads the two best results of two different international shows are considered. The results have to be achieved in a class with at least 6 participants. The Grand Prix A-squad has set as minimum criterium twice a 70% at a CDI. For the B-squad it is 67% an for the C-squad 65%.

No Austrian Team to WEG

Remarkably OEPS has also announced selection criteria for the 2018 World Equestrian Games in Tryon and has clearly stated: "No team will be sent, only individual riders."

Grand Prix riders who wish to be considered have to fulfill the FEI's MES ( 2x 66%) as well as compete at two mandatory CDI's and one CDI of choice. They have to have achieved at least two times 72% in the Grand Prix at two different shows (5* or 4*).

The mandatory show options are the CDI Achleiten or the CDI Cappeln, both run by OEPS president Sissy Max-Theurer. The option shows are CDI 3* Ebreichsdorf, CDI 3* Wiener Neustadt and the CDI Fritzens.

Squads for 2018

Grand Prix A-Squad

  • Victoria Max-Theurer - Blind Date
  • Astrid Neumayer - Rodriguez
  • Belinda Weinbauer - Söhnlein Brilliant MJ

Grand Prix B-Squad

  • Evelyn Haim-Swarovski - Dorina and Delilah Royal
  • Amanda Hartung - Dresscode Black
  • Victoria Max-Theurer - Della Cavalleria
  • Ulrike Prunthaller - Duccio and Quebec
  • Christian Schumach - Picardo
  • Jaqueline Toniutti - Sandrose
  • Renate Voglsang - Fratello

Grand Prix C-Squad

  • Pia Gabriel - Sterling G and Junimond
  • Timna Zach - Simply Red

Under 25 D-squad

  • Franziska Fries - Atomic
  • Katharina Haas - Saint Tropez
  •  Diana Porsche - Di Sandro
  • Karoline Valenta - Diego

Small Tour E-squad

  • Stepanie Dearing - Del Magico
  • Amanda Hartung - Fürst Flipper
  • Wolfgang Himsl - Dubrownik NRW
  • Kerstin Kronaus - Sir Stanislaus
  • Bettina Kendlbacher - Rubens Recaro
  • Ulrike Prunthaller - Quarz and Quantum
  • Stefanie Schermann - Don Life
  • Christian Schumach - Sinclair Jason
  • Katharina Stumpf - For my Love
  • Renate Voglsang - Sir Raphael
  • Juliane Weyland (Vogt) - Fullsister
  • Belinda Weinbauer - Ferrero Küsschen MJ
  • Anja Luise Wessely Trupp - Sparkling Fizz

Young Riders

  • Francz Sophie - Show Man M
  • Marlene Fuhs Marie Christine - Perfect Illusion
  • Lorenz Florentina-Gisi - Coco Procol Harum
  • Wurzinger Victoria - Dorian

Junior Riders

  • Ahorner Nicola - Robbespiere and Lezard
  • Grabenwöger Helene - Der Fuchs
  • Hohenwarter Daria  - Lehmann
  • Ochsenhofer Lilli - Sanibel
  • Pengg Chiara - Feliciano
  • Süss Lara - Donnerbube Junior
  • Wurzinger Victoria  - Bvlgari

Pony Riders

  • Gebhard Corinna - Antares
  • Messner Lilly - Heidewinde's Wesley, Prometheus and Helios B
  • Stallmeister Pia - Der kleine Prinz


  • no rider submitted

Photo © Astrid Appels

Related Links
Hohenwarter, Thonhauser, Wurzinger, Porsche, Gmoser, Valenta, Weinbauer Win 2017 Austrian Championships
Belinda Weinbauer Dances to Kur Victory at 2017 CDI Caselle di Sommacampagna
Weinbauer Makes it Work with Small Tour Babies at 2017 CDI Stadl Paura
Isabell Werth Wins in Front of 2,000 Dressage Fans at 2017 CDI Fritzens
Mark Your Calendars for the 23rd Manfred & Hilde Swarovski Memorial Show at 2017 CDI Fritzens