2013 Lovsta Future Challenge Finalists Known

Mon, 09/16/2013 - 19:48
2013 Lovsta Future Challenge

After the final fifth selection trial in the 2013 Lovsta Future Challenge show circuit, the eight finalists are known that will compete at the Finals held during the 2013 CDI-W Stockholm in Sweden.

The Lovsta Future Challenge is a Swedish competition for Developing Grand Prix horses as well as for Under 25 riders. This year selection trials were held in Lidkoping, Stromsholm, Everlov, Ericsberg and Djursholm. The circuit is sponsored by Antonia Ax:son Johnson.

Four Under 25 combinations and four Developing Grand Prix Horse combinations raked in the highest amount of points to qualify for Stockholm.

The leader in the ranking for Developing Grand Prix horses is Zircoon Spring Flower (by Painted Black x Armstrong) under Jennie Larsson. The bay Swedish warmblood gelding is owned by Lovsta Future Challenge sponsor Ax:son Johnson and won three of the qualifiers. Larsson will be joined in the finals by Natalie Oldfors on the Dutch warmblood stallion Winnie B (by Roven xx x Lancer II), Lovsta assistent trainer Caroline Darcourt on the Swedish bred Paridon Magi (by Don Primero x Napoleon), and Ebba von Essen on Yantuge (by Hertug x Master).

The Future Challenge for Under 25 riders was dominated by Patrik Hannell's head rider Marina Mattsson on the Swedish bred Mainau (by Maistic x Arrlik). The duo won the first three qualifiers in Lidkoping, Stromsholm and Everslov and finished second in Djursholm. Following her closely in the Under 25 ranking are Sara Enquist and the 21-year old Grand Prix schoolmaster Goch (by Gauguin de Lully x Hartung) who won the Ericsberg trial and was third in the other four. Johanna DueBoje and her 12-year old Swedish bred Don Corleone (by Don Schufro x Bolero) were the winners in Djursholm and proved consistency in three other trials.  The fourth U25 rider to qualify for Stockholm is Ida Kristoffersson on Rolex TP (by Ron William x Inselfurst).

See the complete rankings of the 2013 Lovsta Future Challenge

Photo © Astrid Appels

Related Links
Vallentin, Andresen, Mattsson Win 2013 Nordic Baltic Championships
Dufour Strikes Back and Wins Individual Test Gold at 2013 European Young Riders Championships
My Princess, Hohenstaufen II, Wladimir OA, and Yantuge win 2008 Swedish Young Horse Championships
Christo, Rausing, JJ Rayban, Isac and Hohenstaufen II Win 2011 Swedish Young Horse Championships