British Short List for 2018 European Pony Championships Announced

Wed, 07/04/2018 - 07:16
Great Britain
Holly Kerslake and Valhallas Zorro at the 2018 CDIO-PJYR Hagen :: Photo © Astrid Appels

British Dressage pony selectors David Trott, Andrew Harris and Sue McMahon announced th short list for the 2018 European Pony Championships at Bishop Burton, Yorkshire, 7 – 12 August 2018.

Following the riders most recent performances, in particular at the 2018 CDIO-PJYR Hagen "Future Champions" in Germany, the selectors narrowed down the long list of 9 combinations to a short list of seven pairs from which the team of four will eventually be picked.

The short listed riders are:

  • Megan Barratt (16) - Valido’s Starlight (14yrs, by Valido x Capri Moon)
  • Lilah Gibbs (16) - Non Plus Ultra (10yrs, by Noir de Luxe x Nico the Champ)
  • Holly Kerslake (14)-  Valhallas Zorro (9yrs, by  Valhallas Lord Matrafal x Fjordglimts Sir Johnson)
  • Isobel Lickley (13) - Gigolo (20yrs, by Going East) and Valido’s Sunshine (15yrs, by Valido)
  • Annabella Pidgley (13) - Cognac (10yrs, by Chambertin x Waldemar) and Ine (11yrs, by Constantin x Handryk)
  • Sophie Taylor (15) - George Clooney BS (7yrs, by Caesar)
  • Olivia Wrennall (15) - Donna Schuflo (10yrs, by Don Schufro x Florett AS)

The shortlisted combinations will head to Bishop Burton for a weekend training camp with team coach Clive Halsall on 30 June and 1 July. The Pony Team and reserves will be announced the following week.

Photo © Astrid Appels

Related Links
British Long List for 2018 European Pony Championships
Eurodressage Coverage of the 2018 European Pony Championships