Freestyle MS, Santiago, Donna Elena Win 2016 Australian Young Horse Championships

Tue, 03/22/2016 - 09:52
2016 Australian Young Horse Championships

The 4-year old Freestyle MS, the 5-year old Santiago, and the 6-year old Donna Elena became the winners of the 2016 Australian Young Horse Championships held during Dressage with the Stars, generously sponsored by PSI and co-inciding with the CDI-W Werribee on 17 - 20 March 2016. In a final ride off with the three champions, the 5-year old Santiago was named Champion of Champions.

David MacKinnon and Wendy Satara's Australian warmblood Freestyle MS (by Furst Love out of Welts Argentina) became the winners of the 4-year old division. The pair landed third place in the first round with 78.600%. Judges Macmillan, Verbeek, and Fowler made them top the leader board in the Finals test, which counts for the medals, with 83.600%. MacKinnon edged out Danielle Dierks on the Hanoverian registered OEH Frozen Chili (by Furst Romancier x Rotspon), who won the warm up round with 81.00% but scored 79.200% in the Finals. The bronze medal went to Shanon McKimmie on Lisa Hyville's Australian bred Eagle Elms Fiderpranz (by Fidertanz x ).

In the 5-year old division judges Schwennesen, Verbeek, and Seefried gave the highest score of 79.800% to Matthew Dowsley on Santiago (by Sandro Hit), after they have placed fourth in the first round with 77.800%. The panel of judges placed last year's 4-year old champions and the winners of the warm-up round, Rodney Martin on Andrea Beatty's SPH Renaissance (by Royal Hit x Clintino), on second place with 78.200%. Gina Montgomery and Amanda Jakins's Artes Lauries Gift (by Lauries As x Prince Noir) improved from a sixth place in the first round to a third and bronze medal with 73.600% in the finals.

In the 6-year old division consistency proved key and Grand Prix rider Maree Tomkinson was a league of her own on the Swiss-Danish bred Hanoverian Donna Elena (by Don Schufro x Bolero) with whome she won last year's 5-year old championships. The dark bay mare won round 1 with 82.00% and reigned supreme in the finals with 87.000%. Tomkinson will now head to Europe with her Grand Prix mare Diamantina as well as Donna Elena, who will be representing Australia at the 2016 World Young Horse Championships in Ermelo, The Netherlands, in July. 

Godron Pratt and Melanie Bloom's stallion Bloomers Simply the Best (by Sunny Boy out of Feathers xx) were the runner's up in the 6-year old division with an 80.40% finals score, while Bretty Parbery and MI Sirtainly Sir (by Sir Donnerhall x Florestan) were closely on their heels with an 80.200% score and third place. MI Sirtainly Sir was previously competed by Kristian Akehurst.

In the final ride off of the champions of each age division, guest judge rider Matthias Rath tested the rideability and potential of the young stars. He gave his recommendation to the panel of judges and together they named Santiago as Champion of Champions. This is the third time that Matthew Dowsley has won the title with one of his youngster. He did it the first time in 2000 with his future 2006 WEG team horse Cinderella and in 2010 he won the title aboard San Jose.

Results - 2016 Australian Young Horse Championships - Werribee

4-year olds - Finals
Judges: Macmillan, Verbeek, Fowler

  • 1. Freestyle MS - David McKinnon  -  83.600%    
  • 2. OEH Frozen Chili - Daniella Dierks  - 79.200% 
  • 3. Eagle Elms Fiderpranz - Shanon McKimmie - 77.000%
  • 4. Almania Felix - Elliot Patterson - 75.200% 
  • 5. Furst Salut VEH - Daniella Dierks - 74.800%   
  • 6. Revelwood Queens County - Brittnee Smith - 72.800%
  • 7. Avella Fratellino - Isabella Robertson-Dixon  -  70.000%  
  • 8. Revelwood Rio - Lauren Peters - 69.600%
  • 9. Graftango - Catherine Davies - 68.400%
  • 10. Dominique de Sandro -  Matthew Dowsley - 67.000%

5-year olds - Finals
Judges:  Schwennesen, Verbeek, Seefried

  • 1. Santiago - Matthew Dowsley-  79.800%
  • 2. SPH Renaissance -  Rodney Martin  -  78.200% 
  • 3. Artes Lauries Gift - Gina Montgomery - 73.600% 
  • 4. HV Sonnet - Cooper Oborn -  71.800%
  • 5. Yarramee Serendipity - Heath Ryan -  71.600%
  • 6. Karabil Park Janz - Marvin Smink -  70.600% 
  • 7. HB Rhodium -  Lizzie Wilson Fellows - 69.800% 
  • 8. Remi Fishers Ghost - Kelly Woodroffe -  69.800% 
  • 9. Grets - Heather Currie - 66.800% 
  • 10. AEA Twiggy - Chelsea Farrugia   -  66.000%

6-year olds - Finals
Judges: Wessels, MacMillan, Verbeek

  • 1. Donna Elena  - Maree Tomkinson -  87.000%
  • 2. Bloomers Simply the Best  -  Gordon Pratt  - 81.800%
  • 3. MI Sirtainly Sir  - Brett Parbery  -  80.200%
  • 4. Baunehojens Diamond Dancer - Charlotte Pedersen - 80.000%   
  • 5. Brierley Rajah -  Nina Boyd  - 76.200%
  • 6. Bloomfield Royal Winston - Stuart Archibald - 67.800% 
  • 7. Regal Legenderry -  Pip Grieve - 66.000%
  • 8. Dancing Elvis - Isabella Godfrey -  66.000%  

Related Links
SPH Renaissance, Donna Elena, Solo Feliz Win 2015 Australian Young Horse Championships
Three Winners Stand Out in Full Field at 2015 Australian Young Horse Championships
Sugarloaf Sirhara and Rosewater Driving Miss Daisy Win 2012 Australian Young Horse Championships
San Jose, Champion of Champions at 2010 Dressage with the Stars