Dreamboy, Pippin's Pride, Den Ostriks Marah Win 2015 Dutch Young Pony Championships

Fri, 08/28/2015 - 06:17
2015 Dutch Young Pony Championships

The 4-year old Castenrayseweg's Dreamboy, the 5-year old Turfhorst Pippin’s Pride and the 6-year old Den Ostriks Marah became the winners of the 2015 Dutch Young Pony Championships held during the 2015 Dutch Welsh Pony Mare Show in Kootwijk, Th Netherlands, on Saturday 22 August 2015.

The first round was judged by Adriaan Hamoen and Jan Peeters and in the final round guest judge riders Michelle van Lanen, Robin Beekink and Anne Meulendijks took place in the saddle of the top scoring ponies to assess their rideability and potential.

The 4-year old division presented a group of mixed quality ponies with a highlight in winner Castenrayseweg's Dreamboy, presented by Sam van der Kuijl. The Dutch bred stallion by Molenhorn’s Lucky Boy has been trained and competed by Van der Kuijl for one year now and in Kootwijk the black stallion stood out from the rest, leading round one with 7 points and scoring 9.5 for potential under the guest judge riders in the afternoon finals class. Kimberley Pap and the bay stallion Pippin's Playboy AT (by Molenhorn’s Lucky Boy) were the runners-up after scoring 9.5 and 10 for the guest judge riders.

In the 5-year old division Kimberley Pap topped the leader board on Turfhorst Pippin's Pride (by Wengelo’s Ricardo). The bay Dutch Welsh pony stallion, who was the 4-year old champion in 2014, reigned supreme in the first round as well as under the guest judge riders who marked him 10 and 9.5 for potential. Pippin's Pride also score 9.8 for trot, 9 for canter and potential but the walk needed work.  The 5-year old reerve cgampion was Jasmijn Schapendonk's Don Chico, a Dutch bred Welsh pony by Heidehof’s Don Diëgo. The palomino gelding for two 9s from the guest judge riders. 

In the 6-year old division the Welsh bred Den Ostrik Marah (by Leuns Veld Lord) claimed top honour under Nikki van Alebeek. The dark bay mare was last year's 5-year old champion and reclaimed the national title.  The mare was a bit skiddish at the start but brims with quality, especially in canter. Annelotte Felix and Mastro's Night and Day (by Wengelo's Nelson) landed second place overall. This pony can still improve in its uphill tendency, according to the judges.

Photo © Robin Artz

Results - 2015 Dutch Young Pony Championships - Kootwijk

4-year olds

  • 1. Castenrayseweg’s Dreamboy (v.Molenhorn’s Lucky Boy) - Sam van der Kuijl -  350,7 pts.
  • 2. Pippin’s Playboy AT (v.Molenhorn’s Lucky Boy) - Kimberley Pap -  329,5 pts.
  • 3. Silvester JR (v.Bloklandshoeve’s Mr. Silvano) -  Runa Fokker -  323,1 pts.

5-year olds

  • 1. Turfhorst Pippin’s Pride (v.Wengelo’s Ricardo) -  Kimberley Pap -  367,9 pts.
  • 2. Don Chico (v.Heidehof’s Don Diëgo) -  Jasmijn Schapendonk - 350,6 pts.
  • 3. Dior (v.FS Daddy Cool) -  Febe van Zwambagt -  337,1 pts.

6-year olds:

  • 1. Den Ostriks Marah (v. Leuns Veld Lord) -  Nikki van Alebeek - 342,1 pts.
  • 2. Mastro’s Night and Day (v. Wengelo’s Nelson) -  Annelotte Felix -  326,4 pts.
  • 3. De Goede Ree’s Wup (v. Woldhoeve’s Bart) -  Elya Doré -  324,5 pts.

Related Links
Pippin's Pride, Den Ostrik's Marah, Morningsky Win 2014 Dutch Young Pony Championships
Don Ducky C-Two, Morning Sky, Boldermans Brasil Win 2013 Dutch Young Pony Championships
Roetsenest Enzo, Kielshoop Honeybee's Valentino, El Diego Win 2012 Dutch Young Pony Championships
Nero van den Hout, Tiesto and Hertenshof Nairobi Win 2011 Dutch Young Pony Championships
Tiesto, Heidehofs Don Diego, Champ of Class, 2010 Dutch Young Pony Champions
Heidehofs Don Diego, Guardian B and JDJ Keimpe Win 2009 Dutch Young Pony Championship