St. Emilion, Zaire, Weihegold Win 2014 Otto Lorke Prize

Sun, 11/23/2014 - 19:50
German Dressage News

The prestigious annual Otto Lorke prize for best upcoming German Grand Prix horse of the year went to three horses in 2014 instead of the traditional one winner. St. Emilion, Zaire and Weihegold were all named recipients of the 2014 Otto Lorke Prize. 

By awarding the coveted title and prize to three horses instead of the usual one, the Liselott Linsenhoff foundation slightly degrades the prestige and exclusivity of the title. It seems to be a recent trend to bestow the title upon several horses per year.

The award winning rider, trainer and owner are honoured with the Otto Lorke prize at the CDI-W Stuttgart, which took place this year on 20 - 23 November 2014. The Grand Prix horse can be no older than 10 to be in the running for the award.

With already 14 victories at S level and in Grand Prix tests, the 9-year old Westfalian stallion St. Emilion (by Sandro Hit x Ehrenwort) was chose. The black stallion is bred by Walter Niewerth, owned by Christina Ullrich and competed by Dorothee Schneider.

The 10-year old Dutch warmblood mare Zaire (by Son de Niro x Jazz) is the second winner as she won the international Grand Prix and Special in Kaposvar, Hungary and has put her tally of S-level victories to 9. Zaire is competed by Jessica von Bredow-Werndl and trained by Jessica, her brother Benjamin Werndl and Jonny Hilberath.  Zaire is owned by the Werndl family.

Coached by Isabell Werth, Beatrice Buchwald rode the 9-year old Oldenburg mare Weihegold (by Don Schufro x Sandro Hit) to the 2013 Nurnberger Burgpokal title. The pair made a smooth transition to Grand Prix level and coach Werth recently placed second twice on her at the CDI Oldenburg.

Photo © LL-foto

Related Links
Dresden Mann and Bella Rose Win 2013 Otto Lorke Prize
Diva Royal Wins 2012 Otto Lorke Prize
Don Johnson and Desperados Win 2011 Otto Lorke Prize
Isabell Werth's El Santo NRW Wins 2010 Otto Lorke Prize
Balkenhol's Dablino Wins 2009 Otto Lörke Prize
Ulla Salzgeber and Herzruf's Erbe Win 2008 Otto-Lörke Prize
Monica Theodorescu's Whisper Wins the 2007 Otto Lörke Preis
Elvis VA Wins the 2005 Otto Lörke Prize
Alexandra Simons-De Ridder's Wellington Wins 2004 Otto Lorke Preis
Isabell Werth's Aleppo S OLD Wins 1999 Otto Lorke Preis 
Isabell Werth's Agnelli FRH Wins 2000 Otto Lorke Preis
Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff's Renoir R Wins 2001 Otto Lorke Preis 
2002 Otto Lorke Preis for Heike Kemmer and Ellen Schulten Baumer
Liselotte Rheinberger Passed Away