Jim Koford Withdraws, Shawna Harding Steps in for 2012 World Cup Finals

Sun, 03/25/2012 - 10:46
2012 World Cup Finals

Only days after the announcement that Jim Koford was to represent the U.S. at the 2012 World Cup Finals, the Florida based rider had to withdraw because of an injury to his horse. Shawna Harding has stepped in to replace Koford and will join Jan Ebeling, just like last year, to compete in Europe at the World Cup Finals in 's Hertogenbosch, The Netherlands.

Koford was set to represent his native country for the first time in his career at a major championship. He was to ride Hannah Holland Shook and Mitzi Presnell's 13-year old Belgian warmblood gelding Pharaoh (by Ferro x Carneval).

Koford's Pharaoh strained a tendon in the Grand Prix class at the 2012 CDI Loxahatchee last Friday. "The injury is no big deal, caused by a hyperextension," Koford told Dressage-News. "He didn’t feel right in the Grand Prix Friday and he was utrasounded this morning (Saturday). Disappointing it may be, but I am so much more relieved that the horse is alright."

The 43-year old Shawna Harding of Aiken, South Carolina, is stepping in as substitute. She will be riding her 13-year old Danish warmblood gelding Come On III (by Come Back II x Lantaan). It will be her second World Cup Finals in Europe as she made the trip to Leipzig, Germany, last year. 

While Harding expressed sincere exciting for the opportunity to ride in Den Bosch, she also mentioned her concern to get the fund raising in order for the journey. "We now need a lot of help for the trip," Harding stated.

When European combinations travel to the World Cup Finals in Las Vegas, U.S.A., all expenses are paid by the organizers. Unfortunately this is not the other way round and all competitors from abroad Europe have to pay their own way to the Finals.

Photo © Phelpsphotos.com

Related Links
Ebeling and Koford Confirmed as U.S. Representatives at 2012 World Cup Finals
Preferential Treatment for Euro Riders in World Cup Circuit
Eurodressage Coverage of the 2012 World Cup Finals