Twenty-Five Youngsters Selected to Participate in 2011 Dutch WCYH Selection Process

Wed, 04/13/2011 - 14:32
2011 World Championships for Young Dressage Horses

Twenty-five young dressage horses have been selected to participate in the Dutch selection process for the 2011 World Championships for Young Horses in Verden. The Dutch 5- and 6-year olds, which qualified highly in the Pavo Cup and Subli Championships were invited to present themselves on Tuesday 12 April 2011 at the KNHS head quarters in Ermelo, The Netherlands.

The selection committee, which consists of Wim Ernes, Johan Hamminga and Gert van den Hoorn, picked out eleven 5-year olds and fourteen 6-year olds which are allowed to particpate in the second training session and selection trial on Tuesday 19 April 2011.

Surprisingly absent from the list of qualified horses are Pavo Cup Champion Borencio(by Florencio), the much hailed young star Bretton Woods (by Johnson) as well as World Championship title defender Astrix (by Obelisk). Rider Emmelie Scholtens was unable to attend the trial last Tuesday because of illness, but has been given permission to present her horses next week. She will be joined by a few other riders who could not ride due to special circumstances. They are Cathy van Oversteeg (Blitz), Stephanie de Ruiter (Bolsan), Kirsten Beckers (Argentino), Petri Bax (Avatrar), Diederik van Silfhout (Arlando), and Janneke Punte (Anderson P).

The qualified horses, so far,  are:

5-year olds

  • Beaumonde (by United) – Emma van de Hooven
  • Be Special (by Special D) – Fieke Houwen
  • Buenos Aires (by Scandic) – Vivian de la Roy
  • Before you Know (by Scandic) – Jennifer Sekreve
  • Belle Lady Texel (by Krack C) – Lotje Schoots
  • Boston (by Johnson) – Hans Peter Minderhoud
  • Brooklyn (by United) – Cindy van Vught
  • Beau Deux (by Ravel) – Geert Jan Raateland
  • Believe RT (by Rubiquil) – Thamar Zweistra
  • Bolero D (by Van The Man) – Vienna Romp
  • Bojengel (by Uptown) – Jenny Koks

6-year olds

  • Aaron (by Florencio) – Jana Freund
  • President’s Allright (by Jazz) – Laurens van Lieren
  • Aston Martin NL (by Uphill) – Christa Laarakkers
  • Amazing Star (by Flemmingh) – Theo Hanzon
  • Angush (by Special D) – Diederik van Silfhout
  • Alonzo (by Contango) – Jonna Schelstraete
  • Annerijke (by Jazz) – Jose van Essen
  • Anne Beth (by Uphill) – Vai Bruntink
  • President’s Avanti (by United) – Laurens van Lieren
  • Hexagons Auctor (by Rubiquil) – Thamar Zweistra
  • Anoraline (by Samba Hit) – Engie Kwakkel
  • Andretti (by Special D) – Theo Hanzon
  • Astrid Sollenburg (by OO Seven) – Floor Dröge
  • Athene (by United) – Gerdine Maree

Photo © Leanjo de Koster

Back to the 2011 World Young Horse Championship Index