Finalists for 2010 Medien Cup Known

Tue, 08/03/2010 - 16:44
2010 Medien Cup

With the conclusion of the CDN Heroldsberg Dressage Gala, all twelve finalists for the 2010 Medien Cup Finals are known. The 2010 Medien Cup is a German show circuit for upcoming Grand Prix horses open to riders of all nationalities.

The Medien Cup has proven to be a big fishing pool for future international Grand Prix horses. Last year's Medien cup winner, Anabel Balkenhol's Dablino, is currently a German A-team listed horse.

This year's qualification events were located in Hagen, Hamburg, Isernhagen and Heroldsberg (click links for scores).

The twelve selected pairs for the 2010 Medien Cup Finals are: 

  • Helen Langehanenberg - Damon Hill NRW (2000, Westfalian, by Donnerhall x Rubinstein)
  • Anna Katharina Luttgen - Lamborghini (2000, Holsteiner, by Lavaletto x Feldherr)
  • Jessica Werndl - Renommee (2002, Hanoverian, by Rotspon x Laptop)
  • Falk Rosenbauer - Desperados (2001, Hanoverian, by De Niro x Wolkenstein II)
  • Uta Gräf - Le Noir (2000, Holsteiner, by Leandro x Caletto I)
  • Brigitte Wittig - Biagotti W (2000, Oldenburg, by Breitling x Diego xx)
  • Sune Hansen - Blue Hors Romanov (2000, Oldenburg, by Rubin Royal x Grundstein II)
  • Ronald Luders - Sancisco OLD (2001, Oldenburg, by Sandro Hit x Rohdiamant )
  • Isabell Werth - El Santo NRW (2001, Rhinelander, by Ehrentusch x Rhythmus)
  • Nadine Capellmann - Girasol (2002, Baden Wurttemberg, by Gribaldi x Landioso)
  • Dorothee Schneider - Forward Looking (2001, Westfalian, by Fidermark x Dinard)
  • Birgit Wellhausen-Henschke - Don Auriello (2002, Hanoverian, by Don Davidoff x White Star)

The latter two pairs will not appear in the Medien Cup Finals. Don Auriello has been sold to Antonia Ax:son, sponsor of Swedish Grand Prix team rider Tinne Vilhelmson and Sune Hansen chose not to ride Romanov.

They will be replaced by the two reserve riders:

  • Wolfram Wittig - Bertoli W (2002, Westfalian, by Breitling x Diego xx)
  • Birgit Finken - Don Walesko (2001, Hanoverian, by Donnerhall x Walt Disney)

The 2010 Medien Cup Finals take place in Munster, Germany, 12 - 15 August 2010.