Balkenhol's Dablino Wins 2009 Otto Lörke Prize

Tue, 11/24/2009 - 00:00
German Dressage News

Anabel Balkenhol, Klaus Balkenhol and Dablino are the recipients of the 2009 Otto Lörke Prize awarded annually at the CDI Stuttgart. The prize commemorates the outstanding professional rider Otto Lörke

and is offered to the most talented upcoming Grand Prix horse in Germany under the age of 10. The award is giving to the horse and its rider and trainer.

The 9-year old Hanoverian branded Dablino (by De Niro x Wanderbusch II) is the winner of the 25th Otto Lörke prize. Dablino made his debut at Grand Prix level this year and became winner of the 2009 Medien Cup Finals in Munster. Dablino is considered by professionals to be one of the most talented young Grand Prix horses at the moment.

Anabel has received the prize for the first time, her father Klaus got it once before as a rider and twice as a trainer. The horse received 1,000 kilograms of oats from the Höveler company. Anabel got a trophy from Klaus Rheinberger, president of the Liselott Schindling foundation for the promotion of dressage sport. Klaus Balkenhol received a 1,500 euro check from the German Olympic Equestrian Committee (DOKR) which was handed over by chef d'equipe Klaus Röser.

Previous recipients are Whisper, Elvis VA, Bonaparte, Lesotho, Renoir Unicef, Wellington and Herzruf's Erbe.

Photos © Dirk Caremans - Barbara Schnell

Related Links
Ulla Salzgeber and Herzruf's Erbe Win 2008 Otto-Lörke Prize
Monica Theodorescu's Whisper Wins the 2007 Otto Lörke Preis
Elvis VA Wins the 2005 Otto Lörke Prize
Alexandra Simons-De Ridder's Wellington Wins 2004 Otto Lorke Preis
Isabell Werth's Aleppo S OLD Wins 1999 Otto Lorke Preis 
Isabell Werth's Agnelli FRH Wins 2000 Otto Lorke Preis
Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff's Renoir R Wins 2001 Otto Lorke Preis 
2002 Otto Lorke Preis for Heike Kemmer and Ellen Schulten Baumer
Liselotte Rheinberger Passed Away