News Flashes from the 2008 Danish Warmblood Licensing

Sun, 03/16/2008 - 00:00
2008 Danish Warmblood Stallion Licensing

In 2004, the Herning Exhibition Center created a "Varmblodpris" (Warmblood Prize) for the person who has devoted much to the development of the Danish warmblood. Recipient this year of the prize is Poul Graugaard.

He received a check of 25,000 Danish Kroner (approx. 3,000 euro) for being a long time national and international supporter of the Danish Warmblood society and he is also a member of the Stallion Licensing Committee.

Princess Benedicte Awarded

More awards were handed out at the 2008 Danish Stallion Licensing. HRH Pricess Benedicte of Denmark received a golden Achievement Award for being the most successful breeder of dressage horses in the Danish Warmblood society. Two of the horses she bred at her home Berleburg are currently highly ranked with the World Breeding Federation for Sport Horses. They are her daughter Nathalie Zu Saeyn Wittgenstein's Grand Prix horses Rigoletto (by Rubinstein) and Digby (by Donnerhall).

Nathalie is also training a third Grand Prix horse, Mastermind (by Master), which is also bred by her mother.

The Danish Olympic Society posted a video interview with Danish Olympic team candidate Andreas Helgstrand. You see footage of him riding Matine at the World Equestrian Games in Aachen followed by an interview with the Danish Equestrian Federation press officer and some videos of Andreas training Blue Hors Romanow at home. Unfortunately, the video clip is not subtitled but it provides lovely images.

Casir Ask was proclaimed Danish Stallion of the Year 2008. The grey show jumping stallion is by the legendary Cor de la Bruyere out of a Landgraf dam. He competed internationally as a Danish show jumping team horse and has produced many successful offspring that has given a new influx to the breeding of Danish jumping horses.

The Åge Ravns Cup for the best Danish bred 4-year old stallion was won this year bySkovens Rafael (by Blue Hors Romanov). Owners Lotte Lindgreen and Per Skjærbæk were the proud recipients of this trophy. The Elvin Rasmussens cup for the best Danish bred 4-year old show jumping horse went Hanne Helmers and Frank Kejberg, owners of Escapology T (by Esteban xx x Linaro).

Photos copyrighted: Ridehesten

Back to the 2008 Danish Warmblood Licensing Index