New Zealand Dressage Squads for 2024 Announced

Thu, 02/22/2024 - 12:06
New Zealand
Melissa Galloway and Windermere J'Obei at the 2022 CDIO Aachen :: Photo © Astrid Appels

The New Zealand equestrian federation has announced the dressage squads for 2024 following a review in December.

The depth of horses and riders continues to build across the disciplines and that makes ESNZ high performance general manager Jock Paget very happy. “It is always challenging in horse sport as you need the horsepower at the right age and stage to meet the criteria but the pathway is fluid enough to allow athletes back on when they have rebuilt,” he said.

The programme for the dressage high performance squad have only been in place since April 2023. For the A-squad (High Performance Squad) combinations need to score three scores of 74% or greater at 2 different shows, in a Grand Prix/and or a Grand Prix Special.

New Zealand's number one Grand Prix combination, Melissa Galloway and Windermere J'Obei, have so far been unable to fulfil to the criteria for the high performance squad, yet are scheduled to represent New Zealand at the 2024 Olympics. They have returned to Europe to train for a second time with Anne van Olst in preparation of a potential Olympic selection by her federation..

The High Performance squad is formally reviewed at least twice annually, although riders may be added or removed (informally) from the squad during the year. In making such selection, the High Performance selectors (Helen Hughes-Keen, Margs Carline, Justine Kidd) will take account of the selection statement, selection Pre-requisites and the requirements while on squad. 

The updated squads for 2024 include

High Performance squad

  • no riders in this squad

High Performance Futures squad

  • Gaylene Lennard - Jax Johnson
  • Melissa Galloway - Windermere J'Obei W
  • Wendi Williamson - Don Vito MH

High Performance Potentials squad

  • Kallista Field
  • Vanessa Way

Talent Development squad

  • Amy Sage
  • Ben Weir
  • Brina Carpenter
  • Lucarne Dolley
  • Madison Schollum

Talent Identification squad

  • Francesca Masfen
  • Gemma Lewis
  • Holly Hanson
  • Rebecca Mobberley
  • Samantha Belsham

Related Links
Hughes-Keen, Carline, Kidd Are New Zealand High Performance Dressage Selectors 2021-2024