Rockson, Fiontina, Esperance Win 2015 Danish Young Horse Championships

Sat, 10/17/2015 - 11:24
2015 Danish Young Horse Championships

The 4-year old Rockson, the 5-year old Fiontina and the 6-year old Esperance became the grand winners of the 2015 Danish Young Horse Championships which were held at the 2015 CDI-W Odense in Odense, Denmark, on 14 - 16 October 2015. The Danish Young Horse Championships are open to all breeds, but it were the home bred horses, with German sires, that captured the champion's sashes.

In the four year old division Spanish Grand Prix rider Severo Jurado Lopezwielded the axe of power and scored a double whammy placing first and second on two of the three horses he qualified for the Final round! Aboard the Danish bred Rockson (by Rockefeller x Sorento x Landtinus x Castro) he aced the division with a total of 8.700 points. The dark bay scored 9.8 for trot, 8.9 for canter, 9.0 for submission and 8.5 for general impression but lost points on the walk (7.3) which was uneven in length according to the judges. Jurado Lopez captured the reserve champion's title aboard the KWPN licensed stallion Grand Galaxy Win (by Apache x Jazz) on a total of 8.560 points. The stallion scored 9 for trot, 7.7 for walk, 8.9 for canter, 8.5 for submission and 8.7 for general impression. Beina Jaeger Jensen completed the top three aboard the Dutch warmblood Goldfinger VDT (by Jazz x Ferro) with a fraction of a total less to Grand Galaxy Win. Goldfinger VDT scored 8.9 for trot, 8 for walk, 9.5 for canter, 7.5 for submission and 8.8 for general impression to total 8.540 points.

In the 5-year old division the reserve world young horse champion and last year's 4-year old Danish champion Fiontina, a Danish warmblood mare by Fassbinder x Romanov, scored the national title with an 8.980 total. The mare born by embryotransfer got 9.5 for trot and canter, 9 for walk for her stunning gaits and 9.3 for general impression, but the judges lowered the submission mark to 7.6 as the mare was ridden over tempo and with too strong a bridle contact. Blue Hors stud's head rider Daniel Bachmann Andersen took the silver medal aboard the Danish licensing champion Zee Me Blue (by Zack x Don Schufro) on a total of 8.700. The stallion scored 9.6 for trot, 8 for walk, 8.9 for canter, 8 for submission and 9 for general impression. Severo Jurado Lopez earned bronze aboard the KWPN licensing champion Franklin (by Ampere x Ferro) with a total of 8.660 points. The dark bay stallion got 9.4 for trot, 7.6 for walk, 9 for canter, 8.4 for submission and 8.9 for general impression. Remarkably absent from the Danish Young Horse Nationals was world champion Fiontini, the full sister of Fiontina.

In the 6-year old division Betina Jaeger Jensen captured the gold aboard the Dutch warmblood bred Esperance (by Sorento x Rousseau). The stallion mare scored 9 for trot, 8.5 for walk, 9.3 for canter, 9 for submission and 9.3 for general impression to finish on a winning mark of 9.020 points. The judges praised the horse for its swing and expression in trot and high rideability. Helene Melsen and the Danish licensed stallion Adrenalin Firfod (by Skovens Rafael x Zalmiak) were the runners-up with 8.420. The stallion got 7.8 for trot, 8 for walk, 9 for canter, 8.8 for submission and 8.5 for general impression. Sandra Kudahl Kaergaard captured bronze aboard the Danish bred Drisdal's Co-Co Chanel (by Temptation x Uffe Korshojgaard) with 8.300 points. The combination got 8.8 for trot, 8.1 for walk, 7.8 for canter, 8.3 for submission and 8.5 for general impression.

Photos © Ridehesten

Related Links
Scores 2015 Danish Young Horse Championships
Fiontina, Litvinenko Sjaelstofte, Rossetti Win 2014 Danish Young Horse Championships
Sezuan, Svalegards Hottie, South West Rocazino Win 2013 Danish Young Horse Championships
Zonik, Holballes Deeba, Samba King Win 2012 Danish Young Horse Championships
Sobakkehus Mia Bella, Dafne, Torveslettens Stamina Win 2011 Danish Young Horse Championships
Scores: 2009 Danish Young Dressage Horse Championships
Atterupgårds Cassidy, Polka Hit Nexen and Horsebo Smarties Win 2007 Danish Young Horse Championships
Tardi, Schianto and Clearwater, 2004 Danish Young Horse Champions