Schurmann and Burlington Secure Victory in 2012 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals

Sun, 12/16/2012 - 17:35
2012 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals

The 19-year old German young rider Charlott-Maria Schürmann from Gehrde, Germant, won the final of the 2012 Nürnberger BurgPokal with her 9-year old stallion Burlington on a score of 77.70%. Even though the young student was “so nervous when she saw all of the people" she stayed focused and presented her chestnut Breitling x Rohdiamant offspring like a true professional.

The triple European Junior Riders Champion from 2010 prepared for her victorious round by retreating herself to the stable to concentrate. Her mind set was ideal as the talented young rider, who also won team gold at the 2012 European Young Riders Championships with Burlington, surfaced at the top of the leaderboard.

Overall 15 horses competed in the final, twelve of them received 70% and more. Head Judge of the Prix St. Georges Special Dr. Dieter Schulze was impressed by the quality "I was surprised about myself, how often I gave an eight and nine score. Considering the average mark this was the best final ever," the judge stated. 

Charlott-Maria Schürmann's Burlington never turns his rider down and the muscular and beautiful stallion has grown up a lot. "To be honest he wasn’t nervous at all," Schurmann explained.  Oliver Oelrich  coaches the young team.

Juliane Brunkhorst (Sandbostel) and the 8-year old Hanovarian chesnut mare First Class were the runners-up. “She is always with me, trusts me and has obvious qualities,” Brunkhorst said happily about the Fürst Heinrich x Rubinstein daughter, which will be ridden by Caroline Wilm (Tasdorf/Hamburg) in the future.

Ingrid Klimke and the Westfalian black gelding Dresden Mann, which competed at the 2010 World Championships of the young dressage horses, finished third. “We basically cantered behind the BurgPokal this season” said the team Olympic eventing rider with a wink.

(An extensive Eurodressage report of the finals is coming up)

Photo © Karl Heinz Frieler

Related Links
Scores 2012 CDN Frankfurt
Rothenberger, Niemann, Schurmann Win 2012 Preis der Besten