Vote for the 2011 U.S. Equestrian and Horse of the Year

Fri, 12/16/2011 - 18:23
American Dressage News

Voting is now open for the coveted 2011 USEF Equestrian and Horse of the Year, which, following decades of tradition comes at the end of the 2011 competition year and is announced when the horse world meets at the United States Equestrian Federation's annual Pegasus Awards celebration in January.

Known as the USEF Equestrians of Honor, eight stars of equestrian sport-across breed and discipline -each recently received a unique competitive trophy. These honors will be presented during the celebrated Pegasus Awards on January 14 at the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza in Cincinnati, OH.

Steffen Peters is the dressage rider nominee in the running for the 2011 USEF Equestrian of the Year title. His rivals for the title are Chester Weber (driving), Karen Waldron (saddlebred), Scott Stewart (hunter), Debbie Foley (saddlebred), Janice Giles (friesian saddlebred), Steven Stiller (friesian), Danielle Barrasso (friesian). Check out all nominees.

To reach the highest level of excellence in equestrian sport takes talent, perseverance, a tremendous spirit and often, unwavering courage. In 2011, six horses have shown the world those qualities and more. The United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) will bestow two of them with the prestigious title of Horse of the Year, the highest honor the USEF awards a horse. This year - a change from years past - both a national and international horse will win. The six champions have earned their place on the elite list as USEF Horses of Honor, and each will be recognized at the USEF Horse of the Year Awards gala and dinner.

The nominees for Horse of the Year are Arabian mare Starr Llight, American saddlebred gelding CH The Daily Lottery, show jumper Carol Reef Via Volo, eventer Neville Bardos, and dressage horse Weltino's Magic.

The USEF wrote about Steffen Peters:

Steffen Peters continues to forge his place in equestrian history. Not only did he break records all year with Weltino's Magic and culminated an undefeated season with a double Gold medal-winning effort at the Pan American Games - he also scored the World Dressage Masters - Palm Beach title with Ravel. He led Team USA to a sweep of all the medals at the 2011 Pan American Games, after winning in California, Germany and New Jersey with Weltino's Magic. He was undefeated with the horse and broke the 80% mark. He took on the best small tour horses in the world at CHIO Aachen in Germany and left them all in his wake. Peters won two Collecting Gaits Farm/USEF Dressage National Championships in 2011 - scoring again with Weltino's Magic at the Intermediaire I level and Ravel - in the Grand Prix. He won all six classes at Gladstone over that weekend. Ravel won eight of 11 classes he contested in 2011, he was undefeated in the U.S. and was never out of the top five at CHIO Aachen, including a second-place finish in the Freestyle. Peters is the past recipient of the William C. Steinkraus Trophy in both 2008 and 2009.

Vote for the Equestrian of the Year.

The USEF wrote about Weltino's Magic:

Weltino's Magic and Steffen Peters were undefeated in 2011, winning at the Intermediaire I level at the Festival of the Horse CDI and the Del Mar. National CDI in California before heading to CHIO Aachen and taking on the best small tour horses in the world. They continued their unbeaten streak in Aachen, Germany, and then returned home to sweep all three tests in the USEF National Intermediaire I Dressage Championships at the 2011 Collecting Gaits Farm/USEF Festival of Champions in September to earn their spot on the U.S. Team for the Pan American Games.

They set a remarkably high standard at the Pan American Games and brought home Team and Individual Gold medals. 'Magic's' character comes through in his performance and he has evolved into a top contender. Started by Peters' wife, Shannon, together they were the reserve champions in the Markel/USEF National Young in the Six-Year-Old division. Peters took the reins in 2009.

Vote for here for Horse of the Year

Related Link
Steffen Peters Awarded 2009 Withney Stone Cup