Australian 2011-2012 Futures Squad for Dressage Announced

Fri, 10/07/2011 - 21:28
Australian Dressage News

The Australian Performance Director and National Selectors assessed more than  150 horse/rider combinations which applied for the Talent Identification Days conducted in each state. The selectors viewed horses aged from 4-9 years of age and selected the Futures Squad

on criteria expected to predict future success at elite levels of international competition.

“This is an exceptional group of horses and riders,  who we hope to see representing Australia at Rio and beyond”, enthused Deb MacNicol, National Performance Director – Dressage.

The Squad is combination-based, and horses and riders will remain on the Squad as long as they continue to achieve performance targets. Futures Squad members will receive access to clinics designed to assist in tracking performance, plus veterinary and sports science/sports medicine support. The National Futures Squad is designed to provide access to the High Performance Program before horses and riders are at a level of training and competition which would make them eligible for selection on National A or Elite Squads.

High Performance Manager, Brett Mace said: “ The Talent Identification Days  represent a significant expansion of the High Performance Program. It is central to the National Pathways, and allows talented horses and riders to access the development opportunities within the High Performance Program”.

Australian Futures Squad - Dressage 2011-12

  • Cassia Montgomery - Rebel M
  • Cassia Montgomery - Fioretta
  • Daniella Dierks - Aber Hallo 29
  • Denise Rogan - Virtuel I
  • Nadia Coghlan - Fiderdanz
  • Robbie Soster - Danora
  • Danielle Shearer - Riverview Cinderella
  • Hayley Gilbert - Dicavalli Dior
  • Jayden Brown - San Andreas
  • Nicole Tough - Flavio
  • Tor Van Den Berg - World Royal
  • Tor Van Den Berg - Lady Sinatra
  • Angela Donaldson - Danson Destiny
  • Heather Currie - Emporio Van De Zwarte Molen
  • Ria Grivell - Acacia Ridge Galileo
  • Lydia Jackson - Flashazz
  • Lydia Jackson - Splendido
  • Ruth Walker - Walden Park Columbus
  • Georgina Cattermole - Bellaire Cannavaro
  • Holly Stansfield-Smith - Diva Royale
  • Jenny Bray - CJP Diamond Dazzler
  • Lilah Nieuwland -Wajama
  • Sidney Hoffman - Freedom C
  • Tegan Huitson - Heatherton Park Fame
  • Colin Chantler - Bonita
  • Deon Stokes - Royal Oak II
  • Sally Rose Mayall - Hollingrove Sunburst

Photo © Franz Venhaus

Related Links
Dressage Talent Identification for Australian Futures Squads
Australian Dressage Squads for 2011 Announced