Twenty-Seven Canadian Riders Declared for WEG Team Consideration

Thu, 01/21/2010 - 00:00
2010 World Equestrian Games

Twenty-seven Canadian Grand Prix riders have declared themselves for consideration for the team that will compete at the 2010 World Equestrian Games held September 25th – October 10th, 2010, at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, Kentucky, USA.

The next three months, team trainer Robert Dover will observe these combinations at shows in Florida and California and select a short list from them. These combinations will travel to Europe for show experience against the worlds best at competitions such as Wiesbaden, Lingen, Rotterdam and Aachen.

Dover will officially select a team at the end of July. According to Dressage News, the "top six pairs will compete at Saugerties CDI3* in New York Aug. 20-22 before heading to a training center in Kentucky for final preparations for the start of the WEG team dressage competition Sept. 27."

Photo © Cealy Tetley

WEG Declared Rider/Horse Combinations

  • Bonnie Bonnello - Pikardi 
  • Jacqueline Brooks - Gran Gesto 
  • Jacqueline Brooks - Balmoral 
  • Ute Busse Lindor's - Finest 
  • Lorraine Chappell - Carpatino 
  • Wendy Christoff - Pfalstaff 
  • Diane Creech - Devon L 
  • Diane Creech - Wiona 
  • Shannon Dueck - Aysha
  • Susanne Dutt-Roth - Rheirattack 
  • Pia Fortmuller - Orion
  • Denielle Gallagher-Legriffon - Abrikos 
  • Peter Gray - Collo 
  • Ashley Holzer - Pop Art 
  • Jaimey Irwin - Dover 
  • Tina Irwin - Amicelli 
  • Cindy Ishoy - Lonestar 
  • Sharon Merkel-Beattie - Essence of Glory 
  • Cheryl Meisner - Tango 
  • Cheryl Meisner - Paganini
  • Liz Steacie - Sambuka 
  • Belinda Trussell - Anton 
  • Lee Tubman - De La Rosa
  • Gary Vander Ploeg - Cezanne
  • Gary Vander Ploeg - Degas 
  • Simone Williams - Wunder Ein 
  • Victoria Winter- Proton

Related Links
Robyn Eames, Canadian Owner of the Year 2009
Jacqueline Brooks Wins Canadian Grand Prix Freestyle Championship Award