Donkers, Wiegaard, Battams, Campdera in the Running for 2018 FEI Award

Sun, 10/07/2018 - 16:54
Groom Steffi Wiegaard and Weihegold :: Photo © Astrid Appels

Young rider Esmee Donkers, groom Steffi Wiegaard, dressage personalities Julie Battams and Merceds Campdera, as well as the para dressage riders Stine Kaastrup, Kate Shoemaker and Sara Morganti are the dressage individuals in the running for a 2018 FEI Award.

The public vote for the FEI Awards 2018 is now open! For a second consecutive year the public gets to vote and celebrate its equestrian heroes following publication of the shortlisted nominees.

The online public vote will be open from 5 to 15 October and will count for 50%, with a panel of expert judges deciding the remaining 50%.

A record of outstanding achievements on the field of play, horsemanship, commitment and behind-the-scenes dedication are just some of the qualities of the 20 nominees selected across the five categories.

The winners will be announced at the FEI Awards 2018 Gala presented by Longines in Manama, Bahrain on 20 November. Presenters on the night of this prestigious ceremony will be five-time Paralympic gold medallist Natasha Baker (GBR) and young Dressage star Juan Matute Guimón (ESP). “I am beyond excited and honoured to have been asked to host the awards with Juan!”, Natasha Baker said. “I can't wait to meet all of the deserving award winners and hear their stories and celebrate our fantastic sport.”

The shortlisted nominees for the FEI Awards 2018 are:

Rising Star for the young stars aged 14 to 21 who demonstrate outstanding sporting talent and commitment.

  • Felix Koller (AUT), Jumping
  • Esmee Donkers (NED), Dressage
  • Victor Levecque (FRA), Eventing
  • Bunty Howard (ZAM), Jumping

Best Athlete - paying tribute to some incredible performances during the year, notably at the World Equestrian Games™ Tryon 2018 and the Asian Games, which took the sport to a new level.

  • Simone Blum (GER), Jumping
  • Yoshiaki Oiwa (JPN), Eventing
  • Lambert Leclezio (FRA), Vaulting
  • Stinna Kaastrup (DEN), Para Dressage

Best Groom - for the behind-the-scenes hero who ensures the horses he or she looks after are given the best possible care.

  • Lucy Miles (NZL), Eventing, groom for Jonelle and Tim Price
  • Alex Tyler-Morris (GBR), Jumping, groom for Harrie Smolders
  • Lee McKeever (USA), Jumping, groom for McLain Ward
  • Steffi Wiegard (GER), Dressage, head groom for Isabell Werth

Against All Odds - for an inspiring individual who has pursued their equestrian ambitions and overcome challenges and obstacles along the way.

  • Sammie Fritz (USA), Dressage
  • Leila Malki (PLE), Jumping
  • Sara Morganti (ITA), Para Dressage
  • Kate Shoemaker (USA), Para Dressage

FEI Solidarity - for an FEI Solidarity or equestrian development project, an individual or organisation that has demonstrated skill, dedication and energy in expanding the sport.

  • Julie Battams and Equine Pathways (AUS)  
  • The Horsemanship charity programme (CHN)
  • Riders of Hope (BIH)
  • Mercedes Campdera (MEX)

Vote for your equestrian heroes and stay tuned to learn everything about the FEI Awards 2018 on

Photo © Astrid Appels

Related Links
Isabell Werth Named FEI Best Athlete of 2017, Alan Davies Wins FEI Best Groom AwardDressage Riders Rothenberger and Riskalla Win 2016 FEI Awards
Jose Eduardo Garcia Luna Wins Best Groom Award at 2015 FEI Awards
Equestrian Heroes Celebrated at 2014 FEI Awards Gala
Charlotte Dujardin Named 2013 FEI Athlete of the Year
Courtney King-Dye Wins 2012 FEI Against All Odds Award
Adelinde Cornelissen, FEI Athlete of the Year 2011
Women Rule the 2011 FEI Awards
Dressage Riders Gal and Roffman Honoured at 2010 FEI Awards
Dressage Groom Michelle Tipper Wins Prestigious FEI Award
Edward Gal, FEI Athlete of the Year 2010